Nonprofits Eligibility

Your organization must be a non-profit or non-governmental organization with recognized legal status in your country
Organizations must be a:

  • Nonprofit or non-governmental organization with recognized legal status in their respective country (equal to 501(c)(3) status under the United States Internal Revenue Code);
  • Public library that provides general library services without charge to all residents of a given community, district or region; or
  • Public museum, including public or private institutions, open to the public, that conserve and exhibit tangible objects for purposes of cultural preservation, education, or aesthetic enjoyment.
In addition to the organization criteria, eligible organizations must also operate on a not-for-profit basis and have a mission to benefit the local community that could include but is not limited to - providing relief to the poor; advancing education; improving social welfare; preserving culture; preserving or restoring the environment; promoting human rights; establishment of civil society.

Any organization that does not meet the criteria outlined above for eligible nonprofit missions is ineligible for nonprofit programs. Examples of ineligible organizations include, but are not limited to:

  • Nonprofit organizations that have not obtained recognized legal status in their respective country;
  • Governmental organizations or agencies, including international governmental organizations, and United Nations Entities;
  • Schools, colleges and universities including formal educational institutions, nonprofit schools, and academic museums;
  • Healthcare organizations including, but not limited to, hospitals, healthcare networks, health plans, and ambulatory/outpatient healthcare organizations;
  • Public Utilities, including public transportation, telecommunications, and utilities;
  • Financial institutions, including banks, insurance providers, and pension and retirement funds;
  • Professional, commerce and trade associations;
  • Professional and semi-professional sports organizations, including governing bodies, Olympics, and national or international tournaments;
  • Political, labor, and fraternal organizations;
  • Individuals.
If your organization does not meet these criteria, it is not currently eligible.

These eligibility criteria are based on Microsoft and Google's nonprofits eligibility.